Tags

, ,

When we were building the bookcase for my son’s room, we purchased, but ended up not using this large cabinet door.

This bad boy sat around our garage for 5 years waiting to have a spot in our home.  I knew I wanted to turn it into a chalkboard and I hate to admit it, but this was one of those projects that took no time at all to do and forever for me to get around to doing.

First off, I wiped down the door really well.  I wanted to get off any major grime, but I wasn’t looking for perfection.  The door is already a cream color with some chipped edges that I think are a part of it’s charm.

The back side is a darker cream and the edges have old dried paint dripped on it (more “charm”). I didn’t think it needed to be re-painted.  I was going for rustic and many of the rougher details are hidden when it’s hanging on the wall.

I left the original hinges intact; look at the layers of paint!

Again… I wish I had photos of the process, but it was so easy.  I taped off the edges and covered them in newspaper to protect from any overspray.  This left only the center panel exposed.  Following the can instructions, I applied a few light coats minutes apart.  After an hour, I added one last coat for good measure.  Done!

Since this was a door, I still needed a way to hang it on our laundry room wall.  Once the paint had cured, Tyson came to my rescue by drilling out two notched holes and reinforcing them.

Close-up:

Originally, the door already had one hole drilled in for a knob, but I wanted to use this oil-rubbed bronze handle, so Tyson drilled a second hole to make it work.  He’s seriously the best!

There you have it.  Our weekend project (with paint dry time) was 5 years in the making.  And now you can’t click on Pinterest without seeing something painted in chalkboard paint.  It’s a really great piece and I love having it in my laundry room.  We also hung hooks for coats and backpacks on the wall below the chalkboard/door so that the area could function as an after school drop zone.

Are you doing any interesting projects with chalkboard paint?  I’d love to hear your ideas.