Tags

, ,

Awhile back, I came across this chair sitting discarded on the side of the road.  It was only needing a seat and some light clean-up and I was more than happy to give it a new home.

I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it and thought this would be a great piece to try spray painting.  Up until this point, I’d always applied paint with a brush or roller.  With the spindles on the back of the chair, this seemed like a good candidate for spray paint.

After sanding, using a latex primer, and applying several light paint coats, I was really happy with the results of spraying the chair.  That is until I went to seal it.  I’m not sure what happened, but the paint started to blister in random spots.  I had been very careful to follow the instructions since I was trying out a new technique and wanted solid results from spray painting the chair.  It was hugely discouraging!

I’ve since done more research on painting and primer and the consensus seems to be that oil-based primers are the way to go. They adhere well without the need to sand or pre-strip the surface and they go over in one coat.

My plan is to try out an oil-based primer with my weekend project.  I’ve decided I’m going to make a custom chessboard for my father-in-law’s chess set and I’m going to incorporate the vintage newspaper into the design.  Wish me luck!

Oh… and as for my chair… I was able to sand down and repaint the problem areas and finish it “bubble free”.  For the seat, I had envisioned a bright, cheery fabric… something with a bold, graphic print and Tess found this fabric on a shopping trip with me.

It has become the perfect desk chair in her room.  Even with the paint blistering, I’m pretty happy with the results.

I’m looking forward to spraying more furniture and I can’t wait to try out the oil-based primer.  However, if you have any favorite tips on painting, I’d love to hear them.