Tags

, , , ,

I’m very close to my mom and my brother.  Growing up, when things got tough, mom would call us “the three musketeers” that could get through anything if we stuck together. Unfortunately, now each of us lives in a different state and our visits are few and far between.  I can’t even begin to tell you how badly this sucks!

So you can imagine how excited I was to get to spend Spring Break with both of them last week.  My mom is remarried and my brother brought my sweet sister-in-law, nephew and 4 nieces for a week of crazy fun.  Tyson wasn’t able to come on the trip.  For those that are counting… that’s a party of 12 under one roof.  My parents home was filled with lots of laughter, good natured teasing and tons of reminiscing.  Nothing (sometimes to my dismay) was off limits.

Our visit included feeding giraffes at the zoo… (they have crazy long tongues)

…painting nails… (we always take this photo when we’re together)

…and even a couple of stories.

During the trip, I learned that my step-dad keeps his wedding band that my mom got him for their 10th anniversary on his key ring because he refuses to take off his original wedding band.  Meanwhile, my brother still carries the key from our childhood home because mom made him promise as a child to NEVER lose it.  I don’t have my key anymore… and I’ve been told that makes him the “more responsible child”.  Whatev’s… we both know who is Mom’s favorite!

And these little lovelies BEGGED to come home with me when I did some shopping at one of my favorite stores.  (Seriously, how is there no Kirkland’s in the Portland area?!)

All in all, it was a great week!

One of the things I knew I wanted to share with you when we planned the trip was my grandparents dresser.

My grandpa was one of seven kids and his father made this piece in the early 1900’s.  It has been handed down several generations and is slated to be passed along to my Uncle in Texas.

For some reason, I got it in my head that my grandpa’s youngest sister slept in the bottom drawer, but my mom said she wasn’t familiar with that story.  What she had heard was that my Great-Aunt Lillian was so small when she was born that her parents put her in a shoebox on the oven door to keep her warm.  Cool story.  Too bad that has nothing to do with the dresser.  But the piece is getting ready to celebrate it’s hundredth birthday, so let’s keep moving and pretend it has a colorful history.

It’s rough in places and has it’s original stain.

It’s a simple design with decorative details on the side.

The top is scalloped and it has it’s original brass drawer pulls.

The dresser also has a beautiful mirror that attaches to the top.  During one of the moves, the mirror was removed and no one can figure out how to reattach it.  It’s currently stored in the garage and guess who forgot to get photos of it?  Yay for blogging fails!

What can I say… it was a crazy week filled with lots of family fun.  Considering my grandpa lived within a one mile radius of all of his siblings for most of his life, I think he’d agree that time with family is what matters most!