Tags

, , ,

… For LICE!

I know… I just made you all itchy.

And you have my complete understanding if you don’t read any further.  But if you hang around, I promise no photos either.

So this morning my youngest woke to discover a case of head lice.  I think she may have picked it up at a slumber party, but she could’ve got it during her last week of school too. However she got it, it’s a pain in the butt to get rid of.  I took the day off work and have spent the entire day scrubbing and combing and checking everyone else and combing some more.  I’m on my fifth load of laundry and have more to go.  I’ve vacuumed and I’ve bagged up everything that won’t fit in our washing machine or can’t be vacuumed.  I’ve made phone calls to other moms and people that she’s been in contact with in the last few days (always fun!) and I’m sitting down to share with all of this with you while still wearing my sweats from this morning.

But why am I even sharing this?  I could’ve just posted what I had planned for today and no one would’ve been the wiser.  And trust me… the perfectionist in me is dying to be dealing with this.  It makes me feel like a failure even though I have a clean kid and a clean home.

This isn’t our first run in with lice.  The kids got it about 4 years ago and it SUUUUUUCKED.  I got it too and someone literally said to me “Why did you just tell me that? I don’t think I could’ve told anyone that… EVER”.  So why am I broadcasting this on the internet?!

Because it’s been a GOOD day!  Because I had to cancel everything I had planned and just care for my family… which is my favorite thing to do and I so often let other things get in the way of that.  Because I got to sit for hours and talk to my girl and lift her up when she was so discouraged.  It sucked when she cried knowing that she would have to cancel her fun day at the mall she had planned with a girlfriend. And I was discouraged too.  But it’s been so good to have my previously scheduled life interrupted.  To stop. To breathe.  To reflect. To be mom first and for most.  And I need to remember to do that more often. Well… not the lice part, but you get the idea.

If you’ve made it this far… thanks for sticking around and reading what’s on my heart.  I promise I have a much more fun post for tomorrow.