Tags

, , ,

Aside from a few details, Tessa’s room is finished and I’ve been eager to share the results. However, looking back over the original photos makes me realize just how much my youngest is growing up.  They are sweet and girlie and all the things that she still is.  But they also show a girl who played tea party and Polly’s and all the things that she is moving away from.  It’s the definition of bittersweet.

Deep breath…

Let’s just get to the photos, shall we.

From another corner:

We still need to make a decision on pillows for the bed.  We both agree that we don’t want the matchy-matchy ones that came with the duvet, but that’s as far as we’ve gotten in the process.  I do have something in mind, but I think it will truly be something that we will “know it when we see it”.

Tessa came up with the idea to put the shelf that was formerly in her closet…

… above her bed which I thought was a really cool idea.

Plus she chose and arranged the items displayed up there.  We even covered a couple of books in scrapbook paper to give some of her smaller items some height.  It’s completely accidental that the pattern on the top two books lined up perfectly.  I couldn’t have planned it if I had tried.

And lastly, we turned this…

… into this.

We still want to add a side table next to her new chair.

I think we have it narrowed down to one of these from Cost Plus.

Whatever table we end up with, Samson (the pup Tess got for her birthday) will relocate there.

It probably goes without saying, but Tessa loves her room.  It’s EXACTLY what she wanted and she has really been enjoying it.  She sits at her desk daily to draw or lounges on her bed to read.  Heck… I love to just hang out in her room!  And I think the space perfectly reflects who she is.  It came together organically and it was pretty great to work on this project together… even if we didn’t always see eye to eye on things.

And thank you to all that followed along with our little summer project! It was really fun to read your comments through the process and you helped keep me focused when I wanted to move on to something else.  So please tell me… Were you able to wrap-up all of the “to-do”s you had planned for this summer?  Big or small… What was your favorite project that you tackled?  Is there any part of it that you know you’ll need to revisit down the road?

xo

**This post will be a part of the link party at “Get Outta My Head, Please.”