Tags

, ,

One of our fall favorites is fresh baked Toffee Cookies.  If there is one recipe that I could make in my sleep it would be these cookies.  And with the autumn air getting crisp and golden and holiday baking just around the corner, I thought it would be fun to share this yummy recipe.

I wish I could tell you that I have fond memories of making these as a child or that the recipe has been passed down in our family for generations, but that’s just not the case. The story of how I came across these treats is pretty unspectacular, but they have a special place in our family none the less.

About 15 years ago, I needed to bring baked goodies to a church event and I came across Skor toffee chips at the store.  On the back of the packaging was a recipe for cookies. Simple.  I’d bake up a batch and have treats for the event.

But they are good… Like crazy, addictive gooooood!  They are the perfect mix of salty and sweet. Crunchy and chewy.  Like a salted caramel party for your mouth.  The ladies at the church event loved them.  I got requests to make more.  And of course I made LOTS more. By the time we moved to Portland, toffee cookies were a staple in my dessert rotation.

Then I made them for my father-in-law.  Now Frank was not a dessert guy, but he loooooved my cookies.  He would specially request them for different family events and I would often send him home with his own stash to enjoy later.  He even dubbed them “daughter-in-law cookies” which was pretty great.  And when my step-dad moved to the area for a short time, they bonded over politics, football and toffee cookies.

But a while back Frank was diagnosed with a form of Alzheimer’s.  And over the last few years we have been slowly losing him.  At first, it was little things, but as the disease progresses it has become more and more.  Then last year when I made cookies for his birthday Frank blankly looked at me and said “Did you make these? They’re good.” Another teeny, tiny part of him slipped away.  I’m so sad to have lost that connection with him.

As you can imagine, these cookies are dear to my heart.  I don’t make them quite as often as i use to, but they are still a huge hit when I do.

Toffee Cookies:

  • 8 oz package of Heath or Skor Toffee Bits
  • 2  1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 cup of light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter softened
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

2. Beat butter, sugar, brown sugar and vanilla in a large bowl.

3. Add eggs and beat well.

4. Gradually add flour mixture.

5. Stir in toffee bits.

6. Drop by rounded teaspoons and bake for 9 minutes.  You want them lightly brown, but still a little gooey.

7. Let them cool a minute or two before moving them to a wire rack.

Enjoy!

One special note… when we moved to Oregon, I could no longer find Skor Toffee Bits, but I use Heath and the results are equally great.

Do you have a favorite family recipe? Do you have a dish that you love to make and that has a special story behind it? Do tell!  And please, please, please, if you make these cookies, I would absolutely love to hear what you think!