Tags

, , ,

Every year along with the shopping and the baking and the decorating and the crafting, our family also makes time to gather around the fire and watch our favorite holiday movies together.  And there are several that Christmas wouldn’t be the same without.  So for your viewing pleasure… here is a list of our Top 5 Can’t Wait to See Christmas Movies:

A Christmas Vacation

Christmas Vacation

I already mentioned here that this movie is one of our absolute favorites.  As in, if we could only watch one movie all season long, this would be it.  And of all of the Vacation movies, this one is by far the one we’ve seen more than anyone probably should.  It’s literally the perfect depiction of life in the 80’s… from the fashion and home decor to the crazy family dynamics.  We love the humor and the subtlety of it and with each viewing, we see something new and adore it even more.

White Christmas

White Christmas

If we could live life by spontaneously breaking out into song and dance, I think this world would be the most magical place EVER!  This movie has incredible sets, costumes and of course, choreography.  Plus it’s a great story!  The banter between Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby is spot on and Rosemary Clooney is stunning.  Between Holiday Inn and White Christmas, I’m going White Christmas every time!

Elf

Elf

Of course, you knew this one had to be here since smiling is my favorite!  This movie is just too great.  Will Ferrell is so funny with his innocence and honesty and he can seriously pack away the sweets.  Zooey Deschanel plays well off his zany character and her voice is amazing.  On a side note, if you haven’t checked out her music from She & Him you are seriously missing out.

Love Actually

Love Actually

This movie makes me cry every stinkin’ time we watch it.  It portrays every kind of love one can experience and I think the intertwining stories are so well thought out.  It has an amazing ensemble cast and you get Hugh Grant bustin’ a move AND Alan Rickman in full Snape as a Muggle mode.  Wait… I’m getting my movies mixed up here.

Disclaimer: Love Actually is rated R for the language and nudity, so we definitely don’t watch it with the kids because so much awkwardness would ensue.  And who wants that at the holidays. But with all of that, it STILL makes me cry… it’s THAT brilliant!

The Vince Vaughn Double Feature

Fred Claus4 Christmases

Okay, this isn’t a movie, but I’m hard pressed to choose between Fred Claus and 4 Christmases.  And since Vince basically brings the same character to both movies, I don’t think I really have to make a choice.  I’m completely entertained by that fast talking, sharp wit, morally gray with a heart of gold guy and I’ll pretty much watch him in anything… except for The Break-up.  But I’ll save that for another post.

So let’s hear it… What holiday movie is a “must see movie” in your Christmas season? Any that I haven’t mentioned, that you can’t live without?  Or is there something that I’ve shared that you disagree with?  Go ahead and tell us, what movie gets you in the Christmas mood like no other?