Tags

, , , ,

Back in November, I shared that I was working on holiday crafts for family and friends.  I really love giving homemade gifts and was particularly excited about the ones I decided on for this year.  However, keeping them a secret on this blog was trickier than I expected.  I almost spilled the beans a few times!  So… without further ado, here is what I was up to this season.

Project #1:

Yarn

Our church collected handmade scarves and hats for our friends who are missionaries in Africa.

Scarf

I made a scarf in the soft green yarn and it was a sweet blessing to slow down during such a crazy time of year and be thinking and praying for the gal that would receive this on the other side of the world.

Project #2:

Monkey

I picked up this fabric when I was working on my brother’s quilt.  Mike can make a pretty great monkey face and may or may not have earned a nickname because of that talent.  So when I saw this fabric, I bought a yard.  When I realized it wouldn’t work in my brother’s quilt, I knew I needed to use it to make something for my nephew instead.

InstaQuilt

David is almost two, so I made a tiny quilt that they can send back to me to make bigger as he grows.

QuiltFrontQuiltBack

I used remnants from my brothers quilt so David would have something just like his daddy’s.  And since David has been eyeing his daddy’s larger quilt, I’m glad they won’t have to share.

Project #3:

Blank Background

Color

I used both of these elements to make cross-stitch family portraits for my mom and sister-in-law.

Paul Family Cross-Stitch

I first found the design on MarthaStewart.com and I tucked the idea away for this Christmas season.  My mom taught me to needle point and cross-stitch when I was a pre-teen and I still love doing it.  This project was extra fun; making personalized mini versions of my brother, his wife, and my nieces and nephew.  I also made one of all of the grandchildren for my mom.  It’d be really cool to show you the final versions of these framed, but somehow over the holidays I managed to delete the photos I took.

Awesome.

I’m highly annoyed with myself, but I think you get the idea.

Cross-StitchDetail

The biggest surprise gift of all came when I found out Christmas morning that my sister-in-law is pregnant with Baby #6!  Both of the portraits will need to be sent back to add another little person. Getting to be an aunt again… totally worth it!!

Speaking of my mom… Today is her birthday.  Happy Birthday, Mom!

Happy Birthday, Mom!

This lady is one of my best friends and is the most selfless person I’ve ever known.  I adore her completely and am incredibly blessed to have her in my life.  Mom… I wish I could be there to celebrate with you.

xo